The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1) by Lindsay Cummings

13576132The Murder Complex
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Published by: Greenwillow Books
Released: June 10, 2014
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia, Thriller, Mystery, Romance, Action, Horror
Pages: 398
Format: Hardcover
In Series: 1st
Rating: 5 / 5 stars
Add to your Goodreads shelves
Buy at Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, Book Depository, AudibleiBooks

Synopsis: An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.


My Review

“Welcome to the Murder Complex.
You cannot see us. You cannot feel us.
But we are here.
And we control your every move.”

OH. MY. STARS! What have I just read?? I need more. I NEEDThe Death Code!!!

I started this book yesterday, and have finished it today. This was amazing and I honestly couldn’t put it down. The writing was so easy to follow, and It was a really quick read. From the get-go I was Intrigued, and every time I turned the page, I wanted more!

So in this world, or this area of the world which is Florida, is after the plague has been cured. Everyone has nanites in their system, it heals them miraculously, the only way someone can die is from unnatural causes… You’d think that getting a cure for a dangerous plague that almost wiped everyone out, would make the world better. Well, wrong. It’s worse. It’s like a living hell! The Initiative and Leeches run the town. The Initiative is mainly the ones that control The Murder Complex. They would’ve changed the world years ago, but instead they kept it going for their own better. They started putting pins in people, saying it was extra nanites, but really they’re just trackers. If you try to leave, the pin in your body will paralyze you instantly. There are Four Commandments for the Shallows that you must obey:

Commandment One: Honor the Initiative.
Commandment Two: Thou shalt not attempt to cross the Perimeter.
Commandment Three: Honor the Silent Hour.
Commandment Four: Thou shalt not harbor useful items from the days Before.

The Silent Hour, that is where everyone in the Shallows are to be absolutely silent and mourn the dead ones. The many many dead ones.

So, naturally, there are Leech lovers… Why? I have no bloody idea, they’re probably just as messed up and psychotic as the Leeches. They praise everything the Leeches do. The Dark Hour, known as the hour when it turns dark that death happens everywhere. Murder is at every corner. They Praise It.

The story is based around the POVs of two people, Meadow and Zephyr. Meadow is a sixteen year old girl with silver hair and grey eyes, just like her mother and little sister, she is getting ready to “try-out” for a job for more rations for her family. The only problem is there is a battle between two people for that position.. and only ONE will make it out, alive. Lucky for Meadow, she has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation. She makes it out, and gets a job at the rations section. Zephyr thought he was just an orphaned seventeen year old, working as a ward with his only friend, Talan. It wasn’t until the girl with the silvery moon-lit hair came into his life that the truth was spilled. It turns out he’s one of the Murder Complex’s programmed assassins. — I want to spill the details but it will probably ruin a lot… so, you just have to read and find out what happens.

I cannot tell you how much I love Meadow and Zephyr, they’re relationship grows rapidly, but it’s all they can do to get answers in the messed up world they live in. Secrets hide in every corner.

We live, for the first time in our life’s, without the Pulse tracking us. Together.

Together. Oh how that gives me butterflies. He would die saving Meadow, she is what makes him stronger, she is what gives him the strength to fight back. Together, they can make it.

It’s kill or be killed.

I was so surprised at how bloody this book was. Lindsay Cummings is such a sweet person and I’m still shocked she wrote such an amazing blood-filled murdering book. That’s amazing! The plot twists and truth reveals were mind-blowing, I scared my dog several times from my screeches and squeals, now she’s on the other side of the house..

The sky turns seashell pink. Then mandarin orange. Then a red so deep it reminds me of blood. It reminds me that everything I have ever known is lost.

I just got chills.. This is such a dark dystopian, and I love it so much I want more! (I’ve said that almost three times now..)

I was at first confused because I didn’t understand where The Murder Complex came into the book until almost half ways, and that’s a huge shocker there. Poor Zephyr! His whole past was a lie. It was all a lie, the only thing holding him together is themoon-lit girl.

Also, I love the added slang words in this book. Flux. Skitz. Stars. It’s really awesome and adds more life to the story.

I read The Murder Complex before The Fear Trials… *facepalm*Oh well, at least I already know what’s going on. I can’t wait for The Death Code this month!


If you have a Goodreads, check out this review HERE!

Overall Rating: 5/5 stars!

★★★★★

links // all my reviews // instagram // goodreads // twitter // tumblr //

One thought on “The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1) by Lindsay Cummings

Leave a Reply

