Release Day + Review: Who Do You Love by Jennifer Weiner

713PzmMJElLWho Do You Love by Jennifer Weiner
Published by AtriaBooks on August 11, 2015
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Pages: 381
Add to your Goodreads shelves!
Source: ARC provided by Publisher
My Rating:
★★★★

Happy Release Day! I am so excited to finally share my review with you guys. I have been waiting for this day since I finished reading the book about a week ago! Thank You so much to AtriaBooks for sending me an ARC of this novel and allowing me to share some bits and pieces of WDYL with you all!

Goodreads Synopsis: 

Rachel Blum and Andy Landis are just eight years old when they meet one night in an ER waiting room. Born with a congenital heart defect, Rachel is a veteran of hospitals, and she’s intrigued by the boy who shows up alone with a broken arm. He tells her his name. She tells him a story. After Andy’s taken back to a doctor and Rachel’s sent back to her bed, they think they’ll never see each other again.

Rachel grows up in an affluent Florida suburb, the popular and protected daughter of two doting parents. Andy grows up poor in Philadelphia with a single mom and a rare talent for running.

Yet, over the next three decades, Andy and Rachel will meet again and again—linked by chance, history, and the memory of the first time they met, a night that changed the course of both of their lives.

A sweeping, warmhearted, and intimate tale, Who Do You Love is an extraordinary novel about the passage of time, the way people change and change each other, and how the measure of a life is who you love.


My Revew:

ARC provided by Atria Books!

Um, Holy Cow! I didn’t know too much when I started reading this, as I always prefer, so I was surprised by how much Itotally freaking loved it! It starts with a Prologue dated in 2014, Rachel, you can see that something traumatic has happened and immediately I’m wondering what happened. The first chapter goes to where it all, presumably began, 1985, when Rachel was only eight years old in a hospital with a fresh scar on her chest. That’s where she meets almost-nine-year-old Andy. He’s sitting in the waiting room alone holding his arm to himself because he fell off a balcony and his mother isn’t to be found yet. Rachel keeps Andy company until his mother Lori finally comes raising all kinds of hell. I think I knew I would enjoy this novel from the first chapter, I just had this feeling.

Through-out this book you get to see how Rachel and Andy grow up never seeing each other until they run into each other one summer when volunteering for the Home Free organization in Atlanta for school. It was such a cute week they had together, building houses together, catching up, slowly falling for the other, and lots and lots of kissing. I admit, Rachel pissed me off with what she did to Bethie, and I was shocked Andy didn’t walk off after witnessing it.. They go back to their hometowns and two years later they are reunited once again for a day to remember. They go through a lot together, they are what you would call anon again-off again couple.

In the course of thirty years you get to see Rachel and Andy live their life, sometimes together, most of the time separately, and you get to watch them grow, learn, make mistakes, fall in love, become heartbroken, and be successful and happy. I fell in love with the story, I fell in love with the way Rachel and Andy fell in love. I was really proud of Andy, he worked so hard and finally achieved his dreams, but I feared fame had got the best of him, he had a good run though… did you catch the pun, heehee!! There were many moments when I would just groan in frustration at either Andy or Rachel for the things they did, especially Andy for not seeing what a good thing he had and then ruining it for some model that only wanted him for his fame. But he learned, and thank god, that last chapter had me in a freaking squealing fit, finally !

The writing was amazing! I flew through most of the book, it was smoothly written and well put together, I love how it’s told from both Andy and Rachel’s point of view and has the years stated each chapter as well. You get to see how much has happened since last chapter.

This book has a lot of real life experiences in it, and that’s another reason why I enjoyed it so much, how real it felt, like I might as well be Rachel, except I wasn’t born with a heart condition, and I wasn’t born in the 70s, and I’m not jewish… Butstill! This was an amazing book, and if you enjoy New Adult Romance novels, then this is a book you need to check out!

Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository
eBook Links: KindleiBooks | Kobo | Nook
Audio Links: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles | Audible
SNEAK PEAK AUDIO: Exerpt 1 | Exerpt 2
W
atch my GIF reaction on Trio, HERE!!


About the Author:

Jennifer Weiner is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of twelve books, including Good in Bed, In Her Shoes, which was made into a major motion picture, and Who Do You Love. A graduate of Princeton University and contributor to the New York Times Opinion section, Jennifer lives with her family in Philadelphia.

Follow Jennifer: Website | Facebook | Twitter


Thank You for reading my review, I hope you enjoyed, comment, and subscribe to my newsletters! Check me out on my other social media sites:
Review Index | Instagram | Goodreads | Twitter | Tumblr | Trio (open on mobile only)

One thought on “Release Day + Review: Who Do You Love by Jennifer Weiner

Leave a Reply

