Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016!

Since it’s the New Year, I thought I would share my favorite books and authors of 2015, as well as share what books i’m excited for in 2016! This post will probably be all over the place, but… oh well!

I thought I would list all of the books I rated a solid 5 stars from the beginning of the year to the end, and then go on to explain some of them with reasons why I loved it and if I recommend (obviously yes if it’s 5 stars).

Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door, and To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before were such cute and fluffy reads that I couldn’t help but love. They included cute boys, and adorable and lovable main characters such as Anna, Lola, and Lara Jean that you connected with in some way, or wished you were as lucky as them girls. Lola was my favorite of the three, She was spunky and spontaneous, and knew what she wanted and who she wanted to be, I admired that, and I loved thinking of what she looked like in her outfits. She’s definitely someone you’d want to be friends with.

Hopeless and Ugly love by Colleen Hoover were books that put me in a huge slump due to their emotional storyline. Yes, thankfully they ended on a good note, but the roller coaster ride from beginning to end was pure torture. I thought I was going to end up swimming in an ocean of my own tears. I definitely recommend though, because these books are so real. They have something that hooks you immediately, and you’re in love, addicted, and definitely hurt. *laughs hysterically until it turns to fits of tears*

The Allure of…. Julian Lefray and Dean Harper by R.S Grey. These two books can be read in any order. They are connected, just as the Anna and the French Kiss series is. If you read Dean Harper, then you won’t be spoiled on too much from Julian Defray, only on how it ends. (but i do suggest you read Julian Lefray and then Dean Harper). I am in love with these books, and especially the characters. Josephine and Lily are the females of the books, and they both run their own blog. Josephine runs a fashion blog, while Lily runs a food blog… hm, does that remind you of something. Oh! I run a book blog… I wonder if i’ll ever have a story like them, making it big in a big city like New York with my boyfriend as my boss… although, there was a lot of struggles in the middle of the books, such as he boys trying to figure out their complicated feelings. Boys, tsk tsk.

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings, they’re sort of fantasy dystopian books. They are both about different worlds, and how it’s all different because of someone running the new world. Red Queen is one of my favorite fantasy books of 2015, especially of that shocking betrayal that I should’ve seen coming, and I was on the bad guys team for a short while…. shame on me! The Murder Complex is a gory world, and confusing until Meadow and Zephyr not only fall for each other, but find out the truth behind all of it. (The second book to TMC is The Death Code, check this series out!)

Who Do You Love by Jennifer Weiner was sent to me from Atria Books, and I’m so glad they did because I loved this story so much! It’s about a love story between two people, they fell in love as teenagers, and their story continues through many struggles and gaps until many many years later they meet again. It’s so cute, I definitely recommend for Young Adults/ New Adults as this is a NA Romance.

Binge by Tyler Oakley is one of my favorite members of this year! I was laughing my ass off so much when listening to this (because I listened to the audible version because it’s 10x more better listening to tyler), and I was even close to tears at some point. Matthew Tyler Oakley has opened his deepest secrets for all his fans, and anyone actually, and it’s so inspiring and even helped me when I was in a huge rut, so, thank you Queen Tyler for helping me smile and laugh like crazy! (I would not recommend this book for younger viewers as there is a lot of swearing and sex talk, just saying. Although, if you’ve watched more than five videos of Tyler’s… then go ahead and read it!)

Tokyo Ghoul by Sui Ishida was the first Manga i read, and I’m glad to wrap up 2015 with it. I enjoyed not only the Art, but also the Paranormal and Horrific story of the Tokyo Ghouls and college student Kenaki. There’s an anime of Tokyo Ghouls, but everyone is saying it’s completely different from the Manga, either way, I’m excited to continue reading the Tokyo Ghoul manga series.

Next, I will list three books that I am excited for in 2016, as well as talking about them.

Synopsis: I thought I’d left Blackwater, Texas behind for good. I didn’t belong in the small town, but my dad wouldn’t listen. He dragged me back home in his beat-up truck and dropped a bomb along the way: Chase Matthews was moving in with us. He was the golden boy of my high school, my former best friend, and the last person I wanted sleeping across the hall. His presence was too great a reminder of the ghosts I was trying to forget.

‘I didn’t ask for a hero. I don’t want to be saved.’

To me, Lilah Calloway meant late nights sneakin’ out, moonlit hair, and sparklers in July. She was my best friend until the day she left and I’d assumed Blackwater had seen the last of her. Then, like a tempest, she rolled back into town for the final half of senior year. The chopped hair and dark devil-may-care attitude warned most people away, but I knew if I fought hard enough, I could find the lost girl.

‘I didn’t want to be her hero. Some girls don’t need to be saved.’

Synopsis: Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

Synopsis: A fighter dedicated to saving humankind from dragons in strictest secrecy.

That was what Garret Xavier Sebastian thought he was part of as a soldier of the Order of St. George. What he learned from a fiery dragon hatchling twisted all he believed in and set him on a collision course with certain death-but not without a chance to put things right.

Betrayed and on the run again, Ember and rogue dragon Riley discover an unthinkable truth about Talon and St. George. They’ll need Garret’s skills and insider knowledge of the Order to negotiate an impossible deal-and if they fail, there will be no way to stop all-out war.

So, Those are all of my favorite books of 2015, and all the books that I am excited to come out in 2016! I hope you enjoyed this post, and make sure to follow/subscribe to my newsletters for updates on when I post next!

HAVE A HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Courtney xx

Review Index | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | BookTube | ask.fm

3 thoughts on “Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016!

  1. Jasmin says:

    Hi there! I was tagged for the One Lovely Blog Award, and I had to tag 5 other people for this tag too. I decided I would choose yours, because I think your blog is amazing. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

