Review | Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 1 (Tokyo Ghoul, #1) by Sui Ishida

23353593

Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 1 by Sui Ishida, Joe Yamazaki (Translator)
Released on June 16th 2015 by VIZ media LLC (english translation)
Genres: Manga, Fantasy, Horror, Sequential Art, Graphic Novel, Paranormal
Add to your Goodreads shelves!
My Rating: 
★★★★★ 5/5

Goodreads Synopsis: Shy Ken Kaneki is thrilled to go on a date with the beautiful Rize. But it turns out that she’s only interested in his body—eating it, that is. When a morally questionable rescue transforms him into the first half-human half-Ghoul hybrid, Ken is drawn into the dark and violent world of Ghouls, which exists alongside our own.

My Review:

I’ll start by saying this is the first ever Manga novel that I have read, and i’m both surprised and relieved that I enjoyed this so much, I have it five stars. There were some points where I just stared at the amazing artwork, because it’s so good. That’s the main reason (obviously) that I love Manga/Comics so much, the art! Also, don’t laugh that it took me five minutes to figure out you had to read it from right to left instead of right to left, I’m such a fail! *facepalms*

I thought that the story was overall interesting, especially since immediately it started out talking about the Ghouls in Tokyo, and how there was a human found dead with some Ghoul blood, and I was really intrigued by how the Ghouls look. THEY LOOK SO COOL WITH THE RED EYES!! Anyways, Tokyo Ghoul is about shy College StudCXlXgt2UoAA3f34ent
Ken Kaneki who finds himself on a date with a girl he’s had a crush on, they shared many interests in books and he thought it was just fate, or luck. Little did he know, what she was, and what her intentions were. THINGS GO DOWN! Kaneki waked up in the hospital with an organ transplant that has completely changed his life forever. He thinks it’s for the worse, and even tried fighting it, distancing himself form his best friend since elementary, Nagachika. I’ll also add, Kaneki used his knowledge of a book he recently read, two actually, and used that knowledge to help his… umm… situations that he were in.

Nagachicka is the kind of friend who is always loyal, who always looks out for you, and always pays attention. Nagachicka noticed things about Kenaki that he didn’t even notice in himself, that’s when you know you’ve got a good friend. It broke my heart when Kenaki almost hurt Nagachicka, in a way that cannot be revered or forgotten, luckily Touka came to the rescue.

Touka is a waitress from the beginning of the book, she is also a Ghoul. People seem to really love Touka, and I don’t know much yet but I’m excited to know her story and get to know her character more. Touka also helps Kenaki, because maybe being in both worlds isn’t as bad as Kenaki is thinking, maybe it’s a chance of a lifetime.

Ahh, I’m already looking forward to the next three volumes of Tokyo Ghoul, which i’ve always ordered, and am excited to know more about the Ghoul history and how they are in the Present. It’s so exciting. Overall, I would say this is a successful start to my Manga collection.

Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles | Book Depository
eBook Links: Kindle | Nook | iBooks | Audible | Kobo

Author Links: Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads

Thank You for reading my review, I hope you enjoyed, comment, and subscribe to my newsletters! Goodreads review is here!

Would you like to ask me questions, and have me answer immediately? Then ask me on my new ask.fm account HERE! Thanks!

Courtney xx

Review Index | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | BookTube | ask.fm

One thought on “Review | Tokyo Ghoul, Vol. 1 (Tokyo Ghoul, #1) by Sui Ishida

Leave a Reply

