Review + Release Blitz | Chasing Spring by R.S. Grey

Cover

Chasing Spring by R.S. Grey
Released on February 1, 2016
Genres: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary, Womens Fiction
Add to your Goodreads shelves!
My Rating: 
★★★★★ 5/5 

Synopsis:

I thought I’d left Blackwater, Texas behind for good. I didn’t belong in the small town, but my dad wouldn’t listen. He dragged me back home in his beat-up truck and dropped a bomb along the way: Chase Matthews was moving in with us. He was the golden boy of my high school, my former best friend, and the last person I wanted sleeping across the hall. His presence was too great a reminder of the ghosts I was trying to forget.

I didn’t ask for a hero. I don’t want to be saved. 

To me, Lilah Calloway meant late nights sneakin’ out, moonlit hair, and sparklers in July. She was my best friend until the day she left and I’d assumed Blackwater had seen the last of her. Then, like a tempest, she rolled back into town for the final half of senior year. The chopped hair and dark devil-may-care attitude warned most people away, but I knew if I fought hard enough, I could find the lost girl.

I didn’t want to be her hero. Some girls don’t need to be saved.

My Review:

ARC provided by the Author in favor of an honest review.


WHERE DO I EVEB BEGIN? I have this storm of emotions in my body and they’re screaming to be heard. I smiled, laughed, yelled, grunted, and definitely cried whilst reading this beautiful work by the lovely Rachel.CY5beh1WcAQLlOw

I knew I would love this book for many reasons. 1. It was by my favorite R.S. Grey; 2. The synopsis and prologue was enough to make you go wild with anticipation to read it all. This book is unlike anything Rachel has written in previous books. Although her previous books do hold real-life problems and dilemmas, they’re mostly romantic comedies, books that make your stomach hurt from laugher, and eyes pop out from the dreamy lead male characters, but they do not compare to this.

 I’ve learned to collect secrets one by one because secrets are flames and no place deserves to burn more than my small town.” – Prologue of Chasing Spring.“I love secrets and i’m good at finding them. For the least two years,


Chasing Spring has been a work in progress for two and a half years, and as Rachel said, the story has been through different versions and dozens of drafts. I first started this book in a rush of busy work days and starting class, but as I write this, picking the book up Teaser 2from where I left off at chapter three, i finished the entire book, left numb for a few moments before the emotions just hit me like a rock. When I enjoy a book, I put my entire mind and heart into it, and read until my eyes won’t stay open, and that’s just what I did. I have to get up in 5 hours for work but here I am writing this while my thoughts are still fresh.

Before I start talking about the book, I want to talk about how Rachel’s writing is always easy to read through, it flows perfectly and is worded just the right way. I was hooked from the prologue up until the last word, and still wishing there was more to the story. The ending was so beautiful, I can’t even put it into words, but it was a great way to end begin a story.

Now, let’s talk about the book.

I cried, a lot, while reading this book. I felt really sad when reading some parts of this book, and was always rooting for Lilah. There’s a lot of darkness in Lilah’s life, and she’s haunted by her past. Lilah Calloway had to return to Blackwater, Texas for the last semester of her senior year. Coincidentally, her childhood best friend Chase Matthews is moving into her house with her dad because of his drunken father. They ended things roughly before she left to live with her Aunt in Austen, but it doesn’t take long before Chase has broken through the wall of Lilah’s life. Lilah has a thing for secrets, she wants to know everyone’s secrets, she finds them interesting and helps her realize that not everyone have perfect lives. Her life is shattered back to reality when the past is ripped open again, and she’s forced to face the truth. Lila and Chase don’t have it easy, she wasn’tTeaser 1 looking for an angel, and he wasn’t looking to be her hero, but some things just happen.

 

“Which little white pill makes a mother forget her dautgher?”


A lot of people have demons on the inside, refusing to let other people see, but some are just the opposite, showing only their demons while refusing to show people who they really are. This is a story about two teenagers trying to figure their life out, and trying to forgive and stop being angry at ghosts of the past. A story you don’t want to miss.

 

“We’d forever be moving in opposite directions- after all, he was the golden boy, and I was the lost girl.”


Lilah and Chase go through a lot together, especially with their dark past and their families tie together that will forever be in their history. Lila refuses to get close to Chase, afraid of what will happen if she does, but Chase doesn’t care, he’s always cared for lilac and always will. In the last semester of their High School life, and life at Blackwater, they will decide if they’re worth having a happy middle.CY5bepiWMAAB2dI

Rachel Grey, I salute you and your incredible mind for writing such a beautiful and dark story, I couldn’t stop crying and smiling at the same time, and i’m glad you decided to publish Chasing Spring. I’m also thankful to have received an early copy, and that I got the chance to read Lilah and Chase’s story.

I recommend this book to any and everyone, It’s officially my favorite book by Rachel and if I could give it 6 stars, then I would. Go online and buy it!

Purchase Links: Amazon


Author Info:

“I am a lover of books, chocolate, reality TV, black labs, and cold weather. Seriously, if I had it my way I would be curled up on the couch with all of those things…everyday.

I live in Texas where I spend my free time writing and reading. My favorite authors are Mindy Kaling & Jonathan Safran Foer. I’m a comedy geek and love all things funny. Women like Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, and Mindy Kaling are definitely the biggest inspirations for my writing, though I think my work tends to skew a bit smuttier than theirs.”

Author Links: Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads


Thank You for reading my review, I hope you enjoyed, comment, and subscribe to my newsletters! Goodreads review is here!

Courtney xx

Review Index | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | BookTube | ask.fm

 

5 thoughts on “Review + Release Blitz | Chasing Spring by R.S. Grey

Leave a Reply

