Review | City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, #3) by Cassandra Clare

3777732City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
Released 
on March 24th, 2009 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Genres:
 Romance, Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal
Add to your Goodreads shelves!
My Rating: 
★★★★☆ 4.5/5
Synopsis:
To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.
As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of the New York Times bestselling series The Mortal Instruments.

My Review:
I’m surprised it took me such a short time to read this, I honestly flew through City of Glass, unlike City of Bones and City of Ashes, which I lagged through.
SO much happens in this book, and my mind is still swirling trying to make sense of everything. The one thing that frustrates me the most, was that I had no idea who Jace really was, his last name, and who’s son he really was. I forgot a lot of small spoilers I got a while back, so I didn’t give it much thought, and when I finally found out, I was kind of shocked. I mean, I knew something about Clary and Jace, my mom spoiled me that much, as she did that Simon was a Vampire for book 2. But, still, I was so glad to finally get answers to the MANY questions I had. I was also glad that Alec stepped up with Magnus, I hope to see more of the in the next 3 TMI books. I feel like there’s too much insta-love, and although I do love it, I want to see some growth!

I found the Sebastian character (I won’t say his real name, for spoilers sake) shady from the start, and it’s terrible, what he did… I could never look past that. I think some people do, in the future books, I can’t remember, I just know his name was mentioned in a BookTube video about the TMI series.IMG_0853.JPG
It made me really happy that all the Downworlders were reasonable, especially the Night Children, kudos to you!

I was thanking the gods that there was no love triangle, so glad that terrible part was over and done with in the second book. I was annoyed by Jace and Clary’s… relationship at first, but overtime I am really liking them together, what a great duo.

Also, I started by listening to the audio, but what the Narrator voiced the Inquisitor, Aldetree, it was so bad and it annoyed me so much, I immediately stopped it and continued reading it. It was awful, sorry, but it was.

Lastly, let’s talk about Valentine. I felt pity for him, also hatred, and even some confusion. His affection for a child not of his blood, but that he raised, and hatred for a child of his blood, that he never even knew, and never would get to know. He was a crazy and psychotic guy, with a disastrous image for a future for the Shadowhunters. I’m not really sad to see him go, although I’m now curious who the villain/s will be in the final 3 books.

That’s my thoughts, fresh as I have just put the book down. I really loved this book, it was so much better than the first two, it’s given me a new look at the Shadowhunter series, and I’m so excited to continue. Now I’m going to try and process everything… again.

Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Nobles | Book Depository
eBook Links: Kindle | Nook | iBooks | Audible | Kobo

Thank You for reading my review, I hope you enjoyed, comment, and subscribe to my newsletters! Goodreads review is here!

Courtney xx Review Index | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | BookTube | ask.fm

4 thoughts on “Review | City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, #3) by Cassandra Clare

  1. The Book Wench says:

    Awesome review! I haven’t read past the first book yet. I actually listened to it on CD and the narrator’s voices annoyed me too so I don’t think I enjoyed it as much as I would have if I had just read it. So I’ll try again when I have time to sit down for all six.

    Also, I LOVE your Gilmore Girls mug. Where did you get it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • librarycutie says:

      definitely continue with the series, I didn’t enjoy a City of Ashes as much, but city of Glass was SOOO good! I listened to the audio for the first 3 chapters and as soon as she narrated in the inquisitors voice, I just couldn’t, it was so bad. but the. arrangers change on the 4th book, thanks goodness. I got the mug from HeyShabbyMe.com 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

