Review | Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

28245707

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde
Published by Swoon Reads on March 14, 2017
Genres: Young Adult, Love & Contemporary, LGBT, Fiction
Pages: 288
Format:
 Paperback
Source: Recieved by Friends
Add to your Goodreads shelves!
Buy it: Amazon // Book Depository // Audible
My Rating: 
★★★★★ 5/5


/ / S Y N O P S I S / /

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.


/ / R E V I E W / /

I started this book not knowing anything about it, just that people seemed to really like it. I only heard about the anxiety and bisexual representation in this book, which was the main reasons I picked it up! Let me tell you, I’m so glad I did because this is now one of my FAVORITE books of 2017! Thank you Linn for this book, I’m so glad I gave it a chance, This was such a great and enjoyable read!

“That’s what we do. We walk a tightrope every day. Getting out the door is a tightrope. Going grocery shopping is a tightrope. Socializing is a tightrope. Things that most people consider to be normal, daily parts of life are the very things we fear and struggle with the most, and yet here we are, moving forward anyway. That’s not weak.”

I related so much to Taylor, like honestly so much! I’m a huge nerd and I have social anxiety and depression that can get in the way of my daily life, and actually has many times enough that I went to therapy for a few months. It’s actually frustrating at times but having someone to support you is so important because you don’t have to go through it alone, and I was so alone and in the dark for years until I finally met that someone who would help take away that feeling. Don’t get me wrong, I still struggle with social anxiety almost every day, but it’s better, it’s a lot better since having him at my side. Anxiety and Depression doesn’t control me anymore, and make sometimes it thinks it can push me over and take steer, but not for long. I’ve learned how to push it in the backseat and take control of my life.

“In one brief conversation, she made me see that there’s nothing wrong with me.”

My version of Queen Firestone would be Shadowhunters, that’s the books/world that changed my life. I felt so connected to Taylor, like we have all these similarities and it didn’t stop there! I even related to Charlie, but only on one major thing: we’re both bisexual! Although, she was out and proud, where I am just quietly out hoping no one I actually know finds out (other than those four people I’ve already told). Either way, I thought Charlie was an awesome and strong character. She was dealing with a huge public breakup from an ass of a guy, and then just as she was getting better and happy from it, she’s stuck at Supa Con with him, of all people! Luckily for her, she meets someone else who sparks life in her eyes and heart and she can’t help but let her past continue to haunt her from making important decisions about her future.

“Before SupaCon, I thought I was just … Afraid. Weird. Awkward. And I was right. I am all these things. And that’s okay. I am all these things. But I am also … Brave. Heroic. Royal.”

I even learned something new, something I honestly had no idea existed: Autism Spectrum Disorder. I didn’t know what it was until Taylor was talking about it with Josie! For those of you who has yet to read this book (which you def should!), I’ll explain it the best I can, with the help of google: Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is a complex developmental disorder that can cause problems with thinking, feeling, language and the ability to relate to others. It is a neurological disorder, which means it affects the functioning of the brain. The effects of autism and the severity of symptoms are different in each person.

I love the relationships and bonds between the three friends: Taylor, Charlie, and Jamie! Tay and Charlie are BFF GOALS!

Another way I can relate to Taylor, is that her relationship with Jamie can almost relate to my relationship with my boyfriend: he’s super nerdy, into all things marvel and DC, comics, awesome fantasy and dystopia movies, and he even reads and more! Let me tell you, we’re a match, just like Taylor and Jamie would be!

I adored this book and love how relatable and geeky it is, I highly recommend if this sounds interesting or up your ally for books at all, HAPPY READING!


/ / T H A N K S / /

Thank You for reading my review, I hope you enjoyed! Please comment and subscribe to my newsletters! Want to send me an e-mail? Visit here.

xo, Courtney

+ links /Review Index | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads | BookTube

Leave a Reply

